swasabbat.reismee.nl

The blog I am writing for KLM frequent travellers... and Runners

I am writingmy running experience for :

www.flyingbluerunning.com

And here the text but then youall are aware..

AND NOW EZIO and I are going to IPANEMA BEACH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

=================================================================

Dear Runners, Dear All,

Help !!!! I am injured....

As you might have read in my introduction I am going to run the 2 ocean run (56 km) in Cape Town on April, 7th.

And I take the training serious... I took sabbatical to, amongst other reasons, train for this event.

But I think I went too fast. I was in San Francisco, Uruguay and on January 3rd we ran very enthusiastic uphill 38 minutes and downhill 19 minutes. We were so happy... the spectacular view, the fresh air and the refreshing wind... the most ideal situation to train for the Cape Town event.

The next day... I just thought: 'let me do relax' I prepared for a half an hour slow run. Upon arrival something went wrong in my right knee. Pain, pain and my knee was sort of blocked. I must say, the right knee always have been a weak area as I had a major ski accident years ago and an operation. I miss a cross ligament.

But now... what to do... and runners will perfectly understand the feeling... I felt sh.t, very much so!!! Being in the most ideal surroundings for this type of training and not being able to do what was planned. Running is part of my life gives me a super happy feeling.

Since the injury I tried to rest and take it easy but every now and then I tried if my knee would cooperate with my mind and body. It did NOT.

In the mean time I am in Rio de Janeiro and spoke to trainer of a football team. Advise: no running and exercising for the next 5 to 10 days, 3 times a day ice on the knee for 20 minutes and some anti-inflammatory medication.

And I have some good books with me. I am reading De Kabbalist from Geert Kimpen and every now and a chapter from The Toa Te King for runners from George Hulskramer, running in the spirit of Lao Tse. The latter helps me a lot to accept the situation as it is. I am not sure if the books exist in English.

To be continued,

Keep Running,

Warm regards from sunny Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro,

François

Reacties

Reacties

Pieter

He Francois,
Als je wilt, je kunt altijd terug komen. De koffie staat klaar! En genoeg adviseuses hier......
Wij zijn er ook klaar mee, maar dan met andere zaken. Jammer dat het zo moet lopen met je knie, ik dacht dat je zo lekker liep. Nou ja, je hebt nou eenmaal de tijd, dus neem geruim de tijd......en geniet ervan.(ben je al verandert?) Inmiddels ben ik zelf bij de sportarts geweest, mijn knietje doet het weer(voorlopig). Ben in ieder geval weer aan het lopen en oefeningen doen (springersknie probleem).

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!